Blog 2024

The Standaloft Heating & Plumbing Greensomes

8th July 2024

The busiest weekend of the year so far for us just past, with a Stag night on Saturday and over 60 Golfers taking on the course for The Standaloft Heating & Plumbing Greensomes on Sunday. Some superb scoring on Sunday considering there may have been a few sore heads from the night before.
Thanks to everyone who took part with too many to name. It really does show what a fantastic club we have.
Prize winners on the day were;

1st David & Ryan Driver
2nd Colin Muir & John McBride
3rd David Rutherford & Ewan Irvine
4th Roddie & Ryan Leitch
5th Carl Kelly & Chrissy Lawrence

Scratch winners with a fantastic gross 69 were Sam Jamieson & Iain McFarlane

Ladies Winners

1st Janet McAllister & Anita Rutherford
2nd Polly Gallita & Zoey Whitelaw

Nearest the pins now;

1st in two shots, Ewan & Davie
Longest drive at the 2nd Jack Reynolds
3rd in two shots Colin & John
4th Davie Greer
10th for the men Matthew Dunn
10th for the ladies Polly Gallita
18th Steven Butler

On a side note, we had the infamous 100 square board raffle board back out on Sunday. Thank you to everyone who bought squares, prizes including an Odyssey putter donated by Martin Myatt , along with £100’s of balls, spirits, 4 balls at 4 different clubs and a golf bag. Thanks to everyone who donated a prize.

MacLeod Construction Port Open

1st July 2024

MacLeod Port Open

Today was the annual McLeod Construction Port Open. The course was in perfect condition and 40 golfers took to the course with some great scores. Thanks go to McLeod Construction for their continued support of our club. Thanks also to our green staff, Duncan and helpers. Thanks to Roddie, Hazel and Jean for keeping us fed and watered and Sam and Iain for scoring and prize giving duties.
List of prize winners as follows;

1st Jack Reynolds (beating Donald Standaloft in 1st playoff hole) 66
2nd Donald Standaloft 66
3rd Ian Simpson
4th Malky Brown
5th Allan Smith Jnr

Other prize winners
Alan Stewart (best handicap)
Joe Livingstone
Ryan Craig
Hector Whitelaw

Nearest the pins
4th/16th John Murray
10th Malky Brown
18th Roddie Leitch

Magic Twos
Matthew Dunn

Fantastic turn out, well done to all involved and thanks again to our sponsors
McLeod Construction

Port Bannatyne Grouse Open

JMF Tankard

3rd June 2024

What a day yesterday for the 26th annual JMF Tankard event at the Port. With 35 golfers taking to the course in stunning conditions it was a first class day for all involved.
Gents winner of the Tankard was Colin Renfrew, a fantastic net 66 taking home the trophy, although it was tight between players with only 1 shot separating the top 3.
Donald Standaloft was best scratch with a fine 67.
Other prize winners on the day were, Graham Fisher, David Greer, Iain Mcfarlane, Jack Standaloft with best overseas going to Kenny Watson.
Ladies winner was Anita Rutherford with Polly Galita in second place.
Thanks goes to the Fergus family for their continued support to our club. Also to the green keepers, a lot of very positive comments from visitors about the fantastic condition of the course. Thanks also to Iain Mcfarlane, Donald Standaloft and Matthew Dunn for handicap and scoring duties. Final thanks as always to Hazel and Roddie for the bar and food, it’s always appreciated.

Howat's Housekeeping and Property Services Scramble

26th May 2024

Saturday saw the Port Golf club hosting Howats Housekeeping and Property Services annual 3 player scramble, with Tricia and family putting up what can only be described as a mountain of prizes. From vouchers, hats, gloves, balls, snoods, nearly 30 bottles of spirits/wine, to 3 “booby” prize bags full of cleaning products. The fine weather combined with the quality of the course it made for some excellent scoring. After the golf, everyone descended on the clubhouse and beer garden for some great food, beers and cocktails to recover from all their hard work on the course. Prize winners on the day,

In 1st place, Roddie Leitch, Caitlyn Kerr and Jordan Leitch
2nd place went to Jimmy & Alicia Dunn, Brian Ross
3rd place, Davie & Jan Reid with Darren Smith
Best Scratch score was John Black, Sarah Howat and Ian McFarlane.
“Booby” Prize went to Stevie & Ellie Miller, with Fraser Campbell.
Prize for Best Dressed went to Stephen,Scott and Rachel Dunn in what can only be described as Jurassic Park meets Indiana Jones outfits…..
Closest to pins now with Scott, Stephen and Rachel taking closest in 2 @ 3rd after Scott driving the green.
Matthew, Jack and Abi were closest in 2 @ the 5th
Closest to the pin @ 10th (sponsored by Davie and Jan Reid) for gents was Jimmy Dunn
Ladies was Janet McAllister
Closest to the pin @ 18th for gents was Jack Standaloft
Ladies was Alicia Dunn.
The Club would like to thank everyone who helped on the day, Ian, Matthew and Sam for cards and scoring, massive thanks to Hazel and Roddie for the usual great food and refreshments.

Tricia and her family have now been part of the club for years, and their continued support through her business is greatly appreciated, roll on next year.

13th May 2024

Hector Scott Trophy

This weekend was the first big trophy of the Summer with qualifying taking place over two days for the Hector Scott Trophy. With plenty of golfers out both days.
Graham Fisher won the sweep on Saturday with a net 66 with Ewan Irvine taking home the rollover 2's money with a 2 @4.
Sunday had some excellent scoring with Ewan Irvine nudging out Carl Kelly (gross 67 ) with a BIH to take the sweep today. 5 twos scored, each getting £2 per 2.
Donald Standaloft @11 +16
Matthew Dunn @4 + 10
Leighton Thomas @9
Qualifiers for the knockout all came from Sundays round. Donald  beating Graham with a BIH of 29.

Draw for the Semi Finals is:

E Irvine v D Standaloft
C Kelly v M Dunn

Ties to be played as soon as possible guys.
 Some superb scoring both days but Sundays was top drawer. With the sun shining all weekend, the course was picture perfect. Huge thanks to Head Greenkeeper Duncan Lyon for all his hard work getting the course into such great shape.



10th April 2024

The Seniors Tuesday Tankard

Srewart Izat winning the 2024 Tuesday Tankard

Well done Stewart, other prizewinners were Colin Renfrew, Jim Biker, Mike Ivory and Pat O'Sullivan

15th February 2024

15 February 2024

4th February 2024

Notice of AGM

Wednesday 21st February 2024

7.30pm in the clubhouse